Nigeria set to construct 28.6MW power plants to improve power access

20 December 2017

The Federal Government of Nigeria has unveiled plans to build eight power plants with a combined capacity of 28.6MW to improve power access in the country. The Ministry of Power, Works and Housing endorsed the Energizing Education Programme (EEP) that will ensure reliable power access across 37 federal universities and seven teaching hospitals in the six geopolitical zones.

The energy audits have revealed that 224,800 beneficiaries including students, staff and community residents have been included in the first phase of the project; across nine universities and one teaching hospital from the six geopolitical zones.

Phase I projects include solar hybrid and gas-powered plants. The seven solar hybrid plants will include: 3MW at Bayero University, Kano; and 2MW at Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto and 0.5MW plant at Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi.

The other solar plants include: 3.5MW at the Federal University of Agriculture, Makurdi; 2MW plant at Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka; 1MW at the Federal University Ndufu-Alike Ikwo in Ebonyi State and 0.5MW at the Federal University of Petroleum, Delta State.

Moreover, the Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU), OAU Teaching Hospital both in Osun State and the University of Lagos will all get an 8MW gas-powered plant

The pact between the nine institutions and the REA for the Phase 1 was signed in June 2017 while the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory (NERC) granted the permits on November 13, 2017 to the agency to operate the captive power plants.

On sustaining the Phase I projects, the agency said the Federal Government will fund a one-year Operation and Maintenance (O&M) as the contractors continue the process for another nine years.

Extract from

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please let us know your preferences.

Please read our Cookie policy.